Large-scale quantum chip validated?

See on Scoop.itBiobit: Computational Neuroscience & Biocomputatin

Nima Dehghani‘s insight:

Scott Aaronson published a post on the possible flaws on the hype about D-wave (http://www.scottaaronson.com/blog/?p=1400). This recent news from Lidar’s group is indeed intriguing. Specially when Aaronson says :

"…Daniel Lidar emailed me to clarify his views about error-correction and the viability of D-Wave’s approach.  He invited me to share his clarification with others—something that I’m delighted to do, since I agree with him wholeheartedly.  Without further ado, here’s what Lidar says:

I don’t believe D-Wave’s approach is scalable without error correction.  I believe that the incorporation of error correction is a necessary condition in order to ever achieve a speedup with D-Wave’s machines, and I don’t believe D-Wave’s machines are any different from other types of quantum information processing in this regard.  I have repeatedly made this point to D-Wave over several years, and I hope that in the future their designs will allow more flexibility in the incorporation of error correction…."

 

did Lidar change his mind?

 

See on news.usc.edu

Leave a Reply

